Skip navigation
Skip navigation

The South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty : a critical assessment

CollectionsANU College of Asia & the Pacific
Title: The South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty : a critical assessment
Author(s): Hamel-Green, Michael
Keywords: South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty (1985)
Nuclear-weapon-free zones--Pacific Area
Nuclear nonproliferation
Date published: 1990
Publisher: Canberra, ACT: Peace Research Centre, The Australian National University
In August 1985, eight South Pacific Forum states signed the Rarotonga Treaty, establishing a nuclear-free zone in the South Pacific region, including Australia, New Zealand and island states south of the equator. The treaty came into force in late 1986 and has been recognised internationally at the UN and by two nuclear powers, the Soviet Union and China. However, the two nuclear powers with the most extensive nuclear involvement in the region, France and the United States, have declined to recognise the treaty and sign the protocol. Michael Hamel-Green's study critically assesses the limited and selective character of the treaty - which prohibits nuclear testing and land based stationing of nuclear weapons but permits transit, mobile deployment and some forms of control - and examines the Australian Government's motivations in initiating and negotiating the measure. The study analyses both regional and nuclear weapon state responses to the treaty and concludes with a discussion of its security and disarmament implications.
ISBN: 0731508998
ISSN: 1030-3154


File Description SizeFormat Image
b17628490.pdfBook28.19 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  12 November 2018/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator