Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Compositions of crisis: Sound and silence in the films of Bergman and Tarkovsky

Pua, Phoebe


This thesis examines seven films from the cinemas of Ingmar Bergman and Andrei Tarkovsky—Bergman’s The Seventh Seal (1957), Through a Glass Darkly (1961), Winter Light (1963), and The Silence (1963), and Tarkovsky’s Stalker (1979), Nostalghia (1983), and The Sacrifice (1986). These films were chosen as they represent the deepest periods of two directors’ engagements with the possible death of God and the subsequent loss of intrinsic existential meaning—topics with which this thesis is...[Show more]

CollectionsOpen Access Theses
Date published: 2014-07-04
Type: Thesis (MPhil)


File Description SizeFormat Image
Pua_P_2013.pdf812.96 kBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  23 August 2018/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator