Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Transition to dependence : the Cook Islands and New Zealand colonialism to 1915, with reference to Government-Maori relations in New Zealand

Stone, Ngaire Joan


The Cook Group consists of fifteen small and scattered islands lying between Samoa to the west and the Society Islands to the east, and extending southward nearly to the Tropic of Capricorn. They are inhabited by Polynesians known as Maoris who, at the time of European contact in the early nineteenth century, numbered about 18,000. The authority structure in the islands was characterised by title holding, reinforced by mana derived from leadership in various fields - religious, political,...[Show more]

CollectionsOpen Access Theses
Date published: 1974
Type: Thesis (Masters)
DOI: 10.25911/5d74e5e985559


File Description SizeFormat Image
b12930970_Stone_Ngaire_Joan.pdf65.62 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator