Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Self rule in the Cook Islands : the government and politics of a new micro-state

Stone, David Joseph


The Cook Group comprises fifteen small islands lying between Samoa and Tahiti in the South Pacific. They have a total land area of only ninety-three square miles and are scattered over 850,000 square miles of ocean. Eleven of them provide the home for some 20,000 Polynesians, just over half of whom live on the island of Rarotonga in the south. In 1965, after sixty-four years of New Zealand rule and as the culmination of gradual constitutional development since the Second World War, the...[Show more]

CollectionsOpen Access Theses
Date published: 1971
Type: Thesis (PhD)
DOI: 10.25911/5d74e61b73b97


File Description SizeFormat Image
b12930957_Stone_David_Joseph.pdf63.54 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator