Skip navigation
Skip navigation

New investigations on the taxonomy of the zebras genus Equus, subgenus Hippotigris

Groves, Colin; Bell, C


Species and subspecies of zebras are examined using traditional (pelage and craniometric) taxonomic methods, including multivariate analysis. Mountain Zebras are split into two species, Equus zebra and Equus hartmannae, because they differ absolutely (100%); Burchell's or plains zebras, however, are placed in Equus quagga because there are no absolute differences. The subspecies of Equus quagga are revised; six subspecies are recognisable. E. zebra, E. hartmannae and E. grevyi are monotypic.

CollectionsANU Research Publications
Date published: 2004
Type: Journal article
Source: Mammalian Biology


There are no files associated with this item.

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator