Skip navigation
Skip navigation

The Threshold States: Japan and Brazil

Rublee, Maria


Who are the nuclear threshold states? Nuclear threshold states are defi ned as those states with signifi cant material and scientifi c capability, but which have made the political decision to refrain from acquiring nuclear weapons.2 This defi nition includes countries that previously had a military nuclear capability but gave it up. Using this defi nition, today's nuclear threshold states include Brazil, Japan, Egypt, South Africa, Canada, Germany, Taiwan, South Korea, and Argentina.3 This...[Show more]

CollectionsANU Research Publications
Date published: 2012
Type: Book chapter
Book Title: Slaying the Nuclear Dragon: Disarmament Dynamics in the Twenty-First Century


File Description SizeFormat Image
01_Rublee_The_Threshold_States:_Japan_2012.pdf4.07 MBAdobe PDF    Request a copy

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator