Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Annual council meeting of the Baking Trade Employees' Federation of Australasia, Sydney

This image is provided for research purposes only and must not be reproduced without the prior permission of the Archives Program, Australian National University.

Download (6.1 MB)

Title: Annual council meeting of the Baking Trade Employees' Federation of Australasia, Sydney
Author(s): Photographer: Tesla Studios
Date published: 25-Feb-2004
Series/Report no.: Series of 47 miscellaneous photographs of eight hour demonstrations, picnics, meetings, memorials etc..
A group portrait of assembled Baking Trade Employees' Federation representatives from different parts of Australia. The bakers are formally dressed for the occasion, with most wearing ties and two wearing bow ties. All except Mr Halliday wear at least one badge on usually their left lapels and a number have medallions on chains attached to their waistcoats. The photograph was probably taken in the photographer's studio. The background of leadlight windows, and heavy embroidered and fringed drapes arranged as if to frame a stage appears to have been painted. The chairs are ornately carved and that of the President, Mr Brownhill, has heraldic lions sculpted into its high back. On the carpet at the feet of the Secretary, Mr F. Hahn, and the President lies a leopard skin rug. The representatives are (from left to right), back row: R. May (Melbourne); L. Watts (Sydney); C. Dorter (Melbourne); E. Hocking (Bendigo); middle row: P. Hahn (Sydney); C. E. Ball (Adelaide); F.W. Lee (Adelaide); P.G. Halliday (Sydney); A. Sherwin (Newcastle); J. Moon (Ballarat); front row: D.A. McKenzie (Sydney); F.C. Hahn, Sec. (Adelaide); A.E. Brownhill, Pres. (Geelong); C.D. MaClean, Vice-Pres.(Sydney); R.G. Large (Melbourne). In this photograph the President is named Brownhill, but in a 1918 picture T013-32-23 his name is spelt Brownbill.
Other Identifiers: K3765


File Description SizeFormat Image
T013-32-22.tif6.1 MBTIFFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  17 November 2022/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator