Skip navigation
Skip navigation


Bedford, Stuart; Regenvanu, Ralph; Spriggs, Matthew; Buckley, Hallie R.; Valentin, Frederique


The Republic of Vanuatu, located in the south west Pacific, comprises a total land area of 12,195 sq km, made up of 83 islands, 70 of which are inhabited (Figure 59.1). Vanuatu was a former colony of Britain and France, jointly run under a Condominium government and known during that period as the New Hebrides or Nouvelles H�brides, until it gained its independence in 1980. The indigenous population (known as ni-Vanuatu) of about 220,000 today remains remarkably culturally and linguistically...[Show more]

CollectionsANU Research Publications
Date published: 2011
Type: Book chapter
Book Title: The Routledge handbook of archeological human remains and legislation: an international guide to laws and practice in the excavation and treatment of archaeological human remains
DOI: 10.4324/9780203838716.ch59


File Description SizeFormat Image
01_Bedford_Vanuatu_2011.pdf4.43 MBAdobe PDF    Request a copy

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator