Skip navigation
Skip navigation

After 50 years, is ASEAN retiring or just getting started?

Blaxland, John


Fifty years ago, Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines formed ASEAN. This association of primarily non-communist and relatively free-market capitalist countries grouped at a time when the Cold War was in full stride, and its end seemed to validate their confidence. The group expanded in the late 1980s and early 1990s to include Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and eventually also Myanmar (then Burma).

CollectionsANU Research Publications
Date published: 2017-08-04
Type: Newspaper/magazine article
Source: East Asia Forum
Access Rights: Open Access


File Description SizeFormat Image
01_Blaxland_After_50_years%2C_is_ASEAN_2017.pdf1.63 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator