Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Mesoproterozoic rocks of Namibia and their plate tectonic setting

Becker, T; Schreiber, U.; Kampunzu, Ali B; Armstrong, Richard


Two main Mesoproterozoic provinces occur in southern Namibia: (1) The high-grade Namaqua Metamorphic Complex (NMC) composed of a supracrustal sedimentary succession and interpreted as a passive margin sequence in the west of the Kalahari craton; (2) The Sinclair Group and its northeastern correlatives, composed of two main magmatic and metamorphic units, reflecting northeast-directed subduction, which started before 1.37 Ga and lasted until about 1.1 Ga. These two units were tectonically...[Show more]

CollectionsANU Research Publications
Date published: 2006
Type: Journal article
Source: Journal of African Earth Sciences
DOI: 10.1016/j.jafrearsci.2006.01.015


File Description SizeFormat Image
01_Becker_Mesoproterozoic_rocks_of_2006.pdf2.99 MBAdobe PDF    Request a copy

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  23 August 2018/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator