Skip navigation
Skip navigation

Commonwealth and states, 1901-1910 : a study of the executive and administrative relations of the seven governments of Australia in the first decade of the federal system

Wright, Don I


The birth of the Commonwealth of Australia, on 1 January 1901, added a new Government to the six already existing within the continent. The new Government had jurisdiction over the whole of the territory occupied by the six established Governments and removed, either at once or after an interval, some of the powers which they had previously exercised. Yet the Constitution did not set out to establish a hierarchy of Governments beneath the Imperial Government. The Commonwealth and...[Show more]

CollectionsOpen Access Theses
Date published: 1968
Type: Thesis (PhD)
DOI: 10.25911/5d74e255c4850


File Description SizeFormat Image
b12769836_Wright_Don_I.pdf42.42 MBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in Open Research are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Updated:  19 May 2020/ Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/ Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator