Professor Erich Weigold AM FAA, FTSE, FAPS, FAIP

Born 19 October 1937 in Haifa, Palestine

Degrees B Sc Honours Class 1 (Physics), University of Adelaide, 1959

PhD in Nuclear Physics, Australian National University, 1962 (ANU Research Scholarship 1959, Australian Institute of Nuclear

Science and Engineering Scholarship 1960-62)

Research Interests

Nuclear physics then the study of atomic collision processes, molecular physics and quantum chemistry and more recently condensed matter physics.

Publications: 2 major books, 3 edited books and more than 300 refereed journal articles and book chapters. Other than a small number of articles in nuclear physics and in ion-atom collisions, the publications are mostly concerned with electron collisions with atoms, molecules and condensed matter and the study of the electronic structure of atoms, molecules, and solids (crystalline, polycrystalline and amorphous).

Positions Held

January 2008-present March 2006 – October2007 February 2004-March 2006	Professor Emeritus, ANU Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) La Trobe University Executive Director, Physics, Chemistry and Geoscience, and the Centres of Excellence Scheme, Australian Research Council
October 2002-February 2004	Professor, Atomic and Molecular Physics Laboratories, RSPhysSE, ANU
September 1992-October 2002	Director, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Australian National University
Sentember 1992-present	Professor Emeritus, Elinders University of South Australia

September 1992-present Professor Emeritus, Flinders University of South Australia

Lanuary 1999 September 1993

Director Floetronic Structure of Materials Control ABC

January 1988-September 1992 Director, Electronic Structure of Materials Centre, ARC Special Research Centre, Flinders University of South

Australia

December 1978-September 1992 Professor of Physics, Flinders University of South Australia

(First Personal Chair Offered by the University)

January 1974 November 1978 Reader in Physics, Flinders University of South Australia Senior Lecturer in Physics, Flinders University of South

Australia

January 1966-August 1970 Chief, Nuclear Physics Division, Air Force Office of Scientific

Research, Washington DC, USA

May 1964-December 1965 Physicist, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Washington

DC, USA

November 1962-May 1964 Lecturer in Physics, University of Adelaide

February 1962-October 1962 Fellow of the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and

Engineering, ANU

VISITING APPOINTMENTS

Visiting Scientist, CNEN, Frascati, Italy, January-February 1975

Physicist, FOM Research Laboratories, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Feb.-September 1975

ONR Consultant, Rolla, Missouri, July 1980

Visiting Professor, University of Münster, Germany, September-October 1985

Visiting Professor, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada, May-June 1987

Visiting Professor, University of Konstanz, Germany, August-September, 1992

Humboldt Professor, University of Frankfurt, Frankfurt, and the Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics, Halle, Germany, 2001, 2002, 2003.

HONOURS AND AWARDS

Member of the Order of Australia AM was awarded in 2009

Lyle Medal Awarded by the Australian Academy of Sciences, 1993 Humboldt Research Prize Awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation,

Germany, 2000

Centenary Medal Commonwealth Government of Australia, 2003

Fellow Australian Academy of Sciences, 1986 Vice-President Australian Academy of Science, 1991-92

Secretary (Physical Sciences) Australian Academy of Science, 1992-

1996

Member Council, Australian Academy of Sciences, 1989-96

Fellow Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and

Engineering (ATSE), 1996

Fellow American Physical Society, 1989 Fellow Australian Institute of Physics

Chair RQF Assessment Panel 2 (Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy and

Earth Sciences) 2007

Member Canadian Foundation for Innovation Special Multidisciplinary

Assessment Committee, 2006

Member Program Advisory Committee for LIGO (Laser Interferometer

Gravitational-Wave Observatory) Operated by Caltech and

MIT.

Chairman Physical Sciences Subcommittee of the Australian Research

Grants Committee (ARGC) 1984-1986 (Member, 1982-1983)

Deputy Chairman ARGC, 1986

Member Technical Committee for High Energy Physics (USA)

1966-70

Member Interagency Committee for Nuclear Physics (USA)

1965-1970

International Union for Pure and Applied Physics Commission Member

(C-15) 1978-1985

Chair Assessment Panel, Innovation Access Program-International

S&T, 2002-2004

Governing Board, Australian Photonics CRC, 1994-2002 Member Member Board, CRC for Functional Communication Surfaces, 2000-

2002

Member Review Committee, Research School of Physical Sciences,

ANU (1987)

Chairman Flinders University Research Committee, 1981-84

Council, Flinders University, 1972-1975 Member

Fulbright (Australian-American Educational Foundation) Chairman

Selection Committee of South Australia (1981-1990)

National Chairman Committee for the International Survey on Atomic and

Molecular Sciences, 1983-1984

Chair Numerous Professorial Appointment and Promotion

Committees

Chair Editorial Board, Australian Journal of Physics 1993-1998

Australia Prize Committee 1995 Member

Member Institute of Advanced Studies Review Advisory Committee,

1995

Member Australian Academy of Science Forum on Industry and

Science, 1995

Member Consultative Committee of the Australian Academies, 1995-96

Chair Review Committee, Dept of Physics, Monash University 1996 Chairman

National Committee for Physics of the Australian Academy of

Science 1997-2000

1996 Vice-Chancellor's Budgetary Advisory Group Member

Advisory Board, Mount Stromlo & Siding Spring Observatories Member Member ARC Large Grants Scheme Review Steering Committee 1997-

98

La Trobe Innovation Pty Ltd, 2006-2007 Director

Acton Semiconductors (Aust) Pty Ltd, 2000-2008 Director

Director Photon Engineering Pty Ltd, 1995-1998